What is a microbrand watch? Meaning, history and how to buy one
What is a microbrand watch? A sourced guide to its meaning and history, how microbrands are made, how they differ from independents, and what to check.
What is a microbrand watch? Meaning, history and how to buy one
A plain, sourced definition of a microbrand watch, with the places where publishers disagree flagged, plus how microbrands are made and what to check before you buy.
A microbrand watch is a watch from a small, independent company that sells mostly online and direct, in small batches, and usually buys in parts such as movements from suppliers. Wikipedia, Gear Patrol and The Watch Collectors’ Club describe it that way, while Quill & Pad notes there is no formal definition.
Disclosure: we are Vannin Watches, and we describe ourselves as an independent watch microbrand, so we have a stake in this topic. Our Vannin Field Watch collection is coming soon. We keep sourced definitions and history apart from opinion, and every opinion is labelled “Our view”.
What does microbrand mean in watches?
In watches, microbrand describes how a company is run, not what its watches are like. The label usually means small, independent, founder-led and selling direct. It says nothing about movement, case material, price or where a watch is put together. Our view: that is why two microbrands can look and cost nothing alike.
How publishers define a microbrand
Table 1 sets out what eight publishers say. They share a core and disagree on the edges, which the next section covers.
Sources for Table 1 are linked in the first column. The Wall Street Journal piece is linked as reproduced on the ssc.ch website.
| Source | Size and people | How it sells | Who makes the parts |
|---|---|---|---|
| Wikipedia | Small-scale makers, often started by enthusiasts, with limited production and staff | Direct to consumer | Production generally outsourced; quality control often left to suppliers and factories |
| Gear Patrol | Independently owned, run by one person or a few; several hundred to several thousand watches a year | Online and direct; some also sell in shops | Often at least one significant part is made elsewhere |
| The Watch Collectors’ Club | Often started by one person; many make a few hundred pieces at a time | Almost entirely online, with no traditional retail network | Cases, movements and dials from specialist suppliers; assembly often by a small workshop |
| Esquire | Defined as making 200 to 300 watches a year, and often fewer | Crowdfunding, social media and e-commerce platforms named as enablers | Not stated |
| WatchPro | A list of usual traits, such as recent founding and a designer or maker in charge; no clean dividing line | Sells direct, often pre-sells, meets buyers at fairs | Not part of its list; notes some brands make their own movements |
| The Wall Street Journal (2016) | Typically one- or two-person shops, in the words of one collector-community founder | Direct from brand to customer, with supply chains set up online | Components bought in; many brands have their watches put together in Asia |
| ANZ Bluenotes (2016) | Usually one person, with small teams not uncommon; typically under 2,000 per model, usually about 500 | Usually crowdfunded or funded by pre-orders; sold online almost exclusively direct | Not stated |
| Worn & Wound (2020) | Scale is part of it, but the style in which a company is run matters more | Direct-to-consumer margins; social media and other direct channels | Not stated |
Where sources agree, and where they differ
The sources agree on more than they dispute. Nearly all describe a small, independent company, usually founder-led, that sells direct to buyers online in small batches and builds each watch around a single point of view. The disagreements are about where to draw the line.
Scale: Esquire puts the figure at 200 to 300 watches a year, Gear Patrol says several hundred to several thousand, and ANZ’s Bluenotes says typically under 2,000 per model. WatchPro notes that some brands still tagged as microbrands make tens of thousands of watches a year, and Time+Tide says production numbers are a poor guide. Price: ANZ’s Bluenotes puts the ceiling at US$2,500 and The Watch Collectors’ Club says most cost under US$1,000. Wikipedia and Time+Tide both say a microbrand is not necessarily cheap, and HiConsumption says very expensive brands are better called boutique. Crowdfunding: ANZ’s Bluenotes says microbrand watches are usually crowdfunded or funded by pre-orders. The Wall Street Journal says some are self-financed and others crowdfunded, and Worn & Wound calls crowdfunding a side factor early in the 2010s. Our view: it is common, not required. Outsourcing: Wikipedia, Gear Patrol and Quill & Pad treat bought-in production as typical. WatchPro reports a Swiss maker of its own movements that was content to be called a microbrand, and says MB&F, Laurent Ferrier and Speake Marin would insist they are independent watchmakers instead. Age and attitude: WatchPro lists being founded within the last decade, HiConsumption says a microbrand must have been founded this millennium, and Worn & Wound says the way a company is run counts for more than size.
The label also carries baggage. Esquire quotes the co-founder of one microbrand who dislikes the word, and the founder of another who says it has been tarnished by brands that vanish without fulfilling pre-orders. Gear Patrol, citing a 2018 essay by Hodinkee’s James Stacey, reports that makers dislike it because it puts quality producers in the same bucket as scams.
Where the word microbrand comes from
We found no source that names who first used the word, so we name no one. What sources do give are dates for the business model and for the boom around it, and they differ by a few years.
Late 1990s and early 2000s: The Wall Street Journal says grass-roots brands of this kind started sprouting. 2004: Esquire and Wikipedia both say Christopher Ward, founded in 2004, is often cited as a pioneer; Esquire adds that it began as an online-only business. 2011: Worn & Wound starts as a blog, saying no other watch media was covering affordable watches and micro-brands. 2012 to 2015: ANZ’s Bluenotes, citing Microbrand Watch World, reports two Kickstarter watch projects funded in 2012 (US$101,252 from 316 backers) and 87 in 2015 (more than US$7.4 million). 2015: Worn & Wound launches the Windup Watch Fair, an in-person event for micro-brands. 2022: Esquire counts three fairs for microbrands: WatchPro Market in London, Windup Watch Fair and MicroLux.
Sources differ on the 2015 total. Wikipedia’s summary gives US$57.4 million and cites Tech.co, but the Tech.co article and the ANZ piece it draws on both say US$7.4 million, so we use that figure.
Why then? Esquire points to crowdfunding, social media and e-commerce platforms such as Shopify, which made low-volume production and direct sales cheaper. Wikipedia adds that the internet let small makers find suppliers and factories. Not everyone welcomes the ease: Esquire quotes the co-founder of Unimatic describing white-label firms that can do everything for a seller as “hit-and-run” operations.
How microbrand watches are made
A typical microbrand designs the watch itself and buys in the parts. The Watch Collectors’ Club describes cases from one manufacturer, movements from another and dials from a third, with a small workshop doing the assembly and the founder sometimes doing the final quality check. Wikipedia adds that microbrands often leave quality control to their suppliers and, for assembly, to watch factories.
Direct sales are the other half of the model. The Wall Street Journal says selling brand to customer removes retailers and their markups, and WatchPro says brands sell direct to avoid wholesaler and retailer costs and often pre-sell to gauge demand and avoid stock that is hard to shift. The Watch Collectors’ Club says the saving goes into the watch rather than a shop’s margin. Our view: that is a claim about margins, not about quality, so ask what you actually get for the price.
Fairs fill the gap that having no shop leaves. Esquire and Wikipedia name WatchPro Market in London, Windup Watch Fair in New York and MicroLux in the United States, where buyers can handle watches they would otherwise see only online, and WatchPro lists meeting customers at such events as a common trait.
Not every brand follows the pattern. Worn & Wound describes “micro indies” that sit between a typical microbrand and a high-end independent, using sourced components with some in-house craft element. WatchPro describes a Scottish firm that makes its own enamel dials and still uses off-the-shelf movements.
Microbrand also says nothing about where a watch is made. In 2016 the Wall Street Journal said many microbrands use components from Asia and have their watches put together there, yet it also profiled one that did its assembly in Brooklyn. Gear Patrol says the outsourced part might come from Asia or Switzerland. Brand identity, design location, component origin and assembly location are four separate facts, a point our British microbrand watches page sets out in full.
Who makes the movements
Movements usually come from a handful of specialist suppliers. These are the four names that sources use most, described from each maker’s own pages where we could open them.
Miyota: part of the Citizen group. Its own FAQ says it does not sell movements directly to customers, that it publishes no price list, and that brands buy through wholesalers and distributors. Movements are also available through watch repairers. TMI (Time Module): its own site says it works with affiliated factories to supply clients across the global watch industry, and its mechanical range is the NH series, which it launched in 2008. Wikipedia describes TMI as wholly owned by Seiko Group. Sellita: its own site says it controls the design, manufacture and assembly of its mechanical movements and supplies all brands on equal terms. ETA: the Swatch Group’s movement maker. Hodinkee reported in 2020 that Switzerland’s competition authority had left ETA free to supply outside customers, and noted that it sells most of its output inside the group.
Our view: a bought-in movement is a choice, not a flaw, and the useful question is which calibre is inside. For one worked example of what a movement maker publishes, and what hacking seconds are, see our Miyota 9039 explainer, which sticks to the maker’s own figures.
Microbrand vs boutique brand, independent watchmaker, homage and established brand
These labels overlap, and sources use them differently. Table 2 shows each as sources describe it, and marks where they differ.
Our view: these are overlapping labels, not boxes. A company can be a microbrand, independent in the ownership sense, and the maker of a watch some call a homage, all at once. Time+Tide’s test is practical: read a brand’s about page and judge its attitude.
If you want names rather than definitions, our guide to the best British microbrand watches compares current makers, and this page does not repeat it.
| Term | How sources describe it | Who makes the parts | Where sources differ |
|---|---|---|---|
| Microbrand | Small, independent and founder-led, selling direct in small batches (Wikipedia, Gear Patrol, The Watch Collectors’ Club) | Mostly bought in from suppliers | Size, price ceiling, and whether crowdfunding or outsourcing is required; see the previous section |
| Boutique brand | HiConsumption says boutique implies a higher price point than microbrand; Gear Patrol uses boutique and microbrand for the same list of brands | Not stated by either | Sources differ: a higher price tier (HiConsumption) or a synonym (Gear Patrol) |
| Independent watchmaker | The AHCI’s press kit says its independent watchmakers are judged on pieces they design themselves; Time+Tide says the textbook independent has no parent company and is privately funded | AHCI: a member must produce at least part of the work or significantly transform components, and independents tend not to make every part; Quill & Pad: resources to produce in house | Whether independence means ownership (Time+Tide) or making the watch (AHCI, Quill & Pad); one member told Europa Star in 2025 that candidates must have personally developed and made at least 60 per cent of the watch |
| Homage or “dupe” | Chrono24 says a homage ranges from a near-copy under another logo to a respectful reinterpretation, and is not a replica; eBay UK calls “dupe” slang often used to market counterfeits | Not a question of who makes the parts | Where a homage ends and a copy begins is disputed; Quill & Pad says some microbrands draw on famous models, which is a design choice, not a size |
| Established brand | Esquire contrasts microbrands with makers that build on a tight portfolio of design classics; the Wall Street Journal quotes a founder saying traditional product cycles run three years or more | Not stated in the sources we read | When a microbrand stops being one: Quill & Pad says reputation removes the “micro”; Time+Tide says the label is almost impossible to lose |
What to check before you buy a microbrand watch
Before paying a small brand, put these questions to it. They are questions, not rules, and each reflects a risk that sources describe.
Who will service it, and what does the warranty cover? The Wall Street Journal called after-sale service a weak point for many microbrands in 2016. Ask who services it, where and for how long, and get the terms in writing. Is it in stock, or a pre-order? WatchPro lists pre-selling as a common trait, and Esquire reports that some models sell out on pre-order. Ask for a delivery estimate and what happens if it slips. If it is crowdfunded, what happens if the project fails? Kickstarter says it is not a store and does not issue refunds, and that fulfilling rewards is the creator’s job. A study it co-published in 2015, covering projects from 2009 to 2015 in all categories and not only watches, found about 9 per cent of projects failed to deliver rewards. What are the returns terms? Citizens Advice says that for most things bought without seeing them in person you get an automatic 14-day cooling-off period starting the day after delivery, with exceptions such as bespoke items, and that rights may differ when buying from abroad. Some sellers allow longer, so read the terms. Can you reach a person? The Watch Collectors’ Club says the founder is usually reachable, and the Wall Street Journal advises reading reviews and speaking to the founders before you buy. Which movement is inside, and is it widely serviced? Miyota says its movements are available through wholesalers, distributors and repairers. Our view: a named, common calibre is easier to ask a watchmaker about than an unnamed one. Will the company still exist? The Wall Street Journal says that, like any start-up, some will prosper and others fail, and the brand you buy today might disappear. Worn & Wound quotes one founder expecting only a minority of new brands to persist. What could you sell it for? We found no source giving typical resale values for microbrand watches. Esquire cites one limited model that now resells at a high price, which is one example, not a pattern.
Sizing is the easiest question to check yourself. Our watch size guide explains how to measure your wrist, and watch lugs explained covers lug-to-lug and lug width.
| Item | Why it matters | What to ask |
|---|---|---|
| Movement | It decides how the watch is serviced and what it can do | Which calibre, and who supplies it? |
| Case size and lug-to-lug | Diameter alone does not show how a watch sits on the wrist | What are the lug-to-lug and lug width? |
| Water resistance | A rating is a test result, not an instruction for use | What is it rated to, and what does the brand say it suits? |
| Warranty | It is the main protection if something fails | How long, what does it cover, and who honours it? |
| Servicing | A mechanical watch needs servicing in time | Who services it, where, and at what cost? |
| Returns | It sets your options if the watch is not right | What window do you get, and who pays the postage? |
| Delivery estimate | Pre-orders can run long | When will it ship, and what if the date slips? |
| Batch size | It shows how much stock exists | How many are being made, and is there a waiting list? |
The trade-offs, plainly
Sources describe real advantages. Quill & Pad says microbrands are free of the design limits that bind established names. Esquire and Wikipedia describe makers serving niches that larger brands skip, such as a watch built for blind wearers. The Wall Street Journal quotes a founder saying small factories bring a new watch to market in under 12 months, against three years or more for traditional brands, and says low volumes mean you are unlikely to see your model on another wrist.
They also describe real drawbacks. Quill & Pad names longevity, uneven quality where parts are bought in, and the lack of a long reputation. The Watch Collectors’ Club says quality varies and that production delays, sizing issues and uneven batches can happen. Esquire reports brands that disappear without fulfilling pre-orders, and Worn & Wound called the boom bubble-like in 2020.
Our view: none of this makes a microbrand better or worse than an established brand, only different. A microbrand asks you to do a little more homework, and the checklist above is that homework. Sources also disagree on price: some call microbrands good value, while Time+Tide says expensive microbrands exist, so we make no claim that they cost less.
Where Vannin fits
Disclosure: this section is about us, and we are not neutral. Vannin describes itself as an independent watch microbrand created on the Isle of Man by Peter Jones and Andy Pickett. Under the descriptions above, a company created by two founders, with a watch designed on the Isle of Man and a movement from a movement maker, fits the common pattern. Whether the label suits us is for you to judge.
Our first watch, the Vannin Field Watch, is coming soon. Its published specification is a 38.0 mm case, 46.0 mm lug-to-lug, 11.2 mm thick including the crystal, a 20.0 mm lug width, a double-domed sapphire crystal and 100 metres (10 ATM) of water resistance. The movement is a Miyota 9039 automatic with hacking seconds and hand winding, and the price is £399. You can register your interest on the Field Watch page.
We are a new brand, and the Field Watch is not on sale yet, so there is no ownership history to point to. Judge us on what we publish, and put the questions in this guide to us. For our reasons for the style, read why we chose a field watch as our first watch, our what is a field watch guide and our story. We make no claim here about where parts are made or watches are put together.
Microbrand watch FAQ
What is a microbrand watch? A microbrand watch comes from a small, independent company, often founder-led, that designs its watches, buys in parts such as movements, and sells mostly online and direct in small batches. There is no formal definition: Esquire cites 200 to 300 watches a year, Gear Patrol several hundred to several thousand. Size, price and crowdfunding are where sources differ.
What does microbrand mean in watches? In watches, microbrand describes how a company operates, not what its watches are like. It usually means small, independent, selling direct and relying on suppliers. Worn & Wound says the style in which a company is run matters more than scale. Some makers dislike the word, Esquire reports, because it also covers brands that fail to deliver.
Are microbrand watches any good? That depends on the brand, not the label. The Watch Collectors’ Club says quality varies and that standout brands choose carefully where to spend, and Quill & Pad says bought-in parts can be excellent or underwhelming. Judge each watch by its published specification, warranty, servicing terms and independent reviews.
Are microbrand watches worth it? Only you can say, and we are not neutral. Sources describe what you may gain: design freedom, direct contact with the maker and small batches. They also describe the risks: weaker after-sale service, uncertain longevity and pre-order delays. Weigh those against what you want from a watch, and ask the questions on this page before paying.
Who makes the movements in microbrand watches? Mostly specialist movement makers. Miyota, TMI, Sellita and ETA are the names sources and makers use for suppliers to outside brands. Miyota says it sells through wholesalers and distributors, not directly to customers. Some brands make their own movements, and WatchPro says even those can accept the label. Ask any brand which calibre is inside.
How is a microbrand different from an independent watchmaker? Sources disagree on the line. Quill & Pad says independents have the resources to produce in house, while microbrands rely on suppliers. The AHCI says its members must make at least part of the work themselves. Time+Tide says that by the ownership test every microbrand is independent, and WatchPro calls the dividing line almost impossible to define.
Are microbrand watches a good investment? We found no source giving typical resale values, so we cannot say. Esquire cites one limited model that now resells at a high price, and says that shows microbrand does not always mean cheap, but it is one example. Worn & Wound called the boom bubble-like in 2020. Our view: buy a watch to wear, not as an investment.
Is Vannin a microbrand? Vannin describes itself as an independent watch microbrand, created on the Isle of Man by Peter Jones and Andy Pickett. We are a new brand and our first watch, the Field Watch, is coming soon, so we have no track record to show yet. Whether we fit the label is for you to judge from the sources above.
Other publications and makers used for this guide: Citizens Advice, Esquire, Europa Star, Gear Patrol, Hodinkee, HiConsumption, Kickstarter, Miyota, Quill & Pad, Sellita, Swatch Group, Tech.co, Time+Tide, TMI, The Watch Collectors’ Club, WatchPro, Wikipedia and Worn & Wound.
Wikipedia: Microbrand watches; Gear Patrol: boutique and microbrand watch brands; The Watch Collectors’ Club: a beginner’s guide to watch microbrands; Esquire: the rise of watch microbrands; WatchPro: microbrand or independent watchmaker; The Wall Street Journal on microbrands, as reproduced by SSC; Worn & Wound: the rise of micro-brands; ANZ Bluenotes: the times they are a-changing; Tech.co: the internet and the rise of microbrand watches; Quill & Pad: microbrands vs independent watchmakers; Time+Tide: microbrand or independent brand; HiConsumption: watch microbrands and boutique brands; AHCI press kit; Europa Star: the AHCI turns 40; Chrono24 Magazine: homage watches; eBay UK counterfeit policy; Miyota FAQ; TMI (Time Module): about us; Sellita: manufacture; Hodinkee on ETA and the Swiss competition ruling; Wikipedia: Seiko Group; Citizens Advice: changing your mind about something you’ve bought; Kickstarter: does Kickstarter issue refunds?; Kickstarter fulfilment report
Sources and published specifications last checked 24 October 2026. Tell us if something has changed.
- Wikipedia: Microbrand watches
- Gear Patrol: boutique and microbrand watch brands
- The Watch Collectors’ Club: a beginner’s guide to watch microbrands
- Esquire: the rise of watch microbrands
- WatchPro: microbrand or independent watchmaker
- The Wall Street Journal on microbrands, as reproduced by SSC
- Worn & Wound: the rise of micro-brands
- ANZ Bluenotes: the times they are a-changing
- Tech.co: the internet and the rise of microbrand watches
- Quill & Pad: microbrands vs independent watchmakers
- Time+Tide: microbrand or independent brand
- HiConsumption: watch microbrands and boutique brands
- AHCI press kit
- Europa Star: the AHCI turns 40
- Chrono24 Magazine: homage watches
- eBay UK counterfeit policy
- Miyota FAQ
- TMI (Time Module): about us
- Sellita: manufacture
- Hodinkee on ETA and the Swiss competition ruling
- Wikipedia: Seiko Group
- Citizens Advice: changing your mind about something you’ve bought
- Kickstarter: does Kickstarter issue refunds?
- Kickstarter fulfilment report
Related reading
Vannin Watches Limited, registered in the Isle of Man (company no. 139401C). Registered office: Thie-Ny-Dhreem, Ballaragh, Laxey, IM4 7PW.